Headteacher Helen Jones introduced the Maesteg School 2017  Strive Awards and welcomed former pupil and BBC Head of Drama Development Kelsey Richards, to the stage. Kelsey gave a wonderful presentation to us, encouraging pupils to “Put the work in now…” and be ‘set up’ for the future. Kelsey told us of her studies and work experience that led her to her current role at the BBC, working on scripts for Holby City, Casualty, Radio One & Radio Four. We loved Kelsey’s message, that if you work hard and are kind to people, “…amazing things will happen!

After a wonderful opening to the ceremony, Mrs. Clarke continued the celebration, calling out the winners of our Strive Awards to rapturous applause. In between pupils collecting their awards, we were treated to musical performances from Eryn Rees, Evie Boydell, Abbie Grant and Sophie Thomas. As the evening came to a close, Mrs. Jones announced Mollie Stolzenburg as the winner of the Headteacher’s Strive Award for 2017, before our Head Boy and Head Girl gave a ‘vote of thanks.’

Congratulations to everyone who received an award, we are extremely proud of your efforts and your motivation to strive!