This autumn we once again celebrated the success of our students in our annual STRIVE Awards.  The evening begun with a beautiful vocal performance from Sophie Thomas, followed by an opening speech from Head Student, Isobel Hocking-Watts. We were fortunate enough to have past pupil Catherine Jenkins give us an insight into her time at Oxford University and how her career has panned out since leaving Maesteg School, she was an inspiration to us all. Mrs Clarke hosted the awards and it was evident that with over 120 pupils being recognised for thier efforts and resilience, that Maesteg School pupils are Motivated to Strive

The talent on display was outstanding with further performances from Ella Powys and Charlotte Lenehan and a dance performance from UDC.

As always we celebrated the success of pupils in subject areas but this year we saw the introduction of the Character Awards celebrating our students who have shown respect and kindness to others and resilience and determination in thier attitudes to learning. 

The final awards were presented by the Headteacher, Helen Jones.  The Army Shield Award is always given to a student who has shown bravery and determination and this went to a very deserving Chloe Bowen.  The Headteacher’s Strive Award plaque was awarded to Ethan SeymourEthan volunteers in the local community and has proved himself an asset to Maesteg School and the wider community. 

The evening was completed with a thank you from the Head Boy and Head Girl, Alex Powys and Eve Wilson

We have many supporters who we, as a school, would like to thank but a special mention to The Rotary, Mr and Mrs Hart, Huw Thomas and our guest speaker Catherine Jenkins.  A very well done to all recieving awards and the year 12 and year 13 students along with Mr Shaw who helped Mrs Clarke ensure the night was a success.

Please enjoy the photographs of our winners below. Parents and pupils wishing to save the pictures should click on their chosen image so that it opens, then right-click and save-as